Community News

Congratulations, 2021 Graduates!

Jack Olsen, 2021 Mike and Sharon Welsh Scholarship recipient with the Welsh family. Jack is an Olympia High School graduate who was inspired by many great teachers in his life and plans to pursue a career in education. Thank you, Welsh family, for creating this scholarship opportunity and supporting the educational dreams of this remarkable young man!

This spring, the Community Foundation of South Puget Sound awarded $164,250, funding 54 scholarships for local students.

Our scholarships come from many generous community donors and support a wide variety of majors, interests, and passions. These scholarships support the educational dreams of students from area high schools, current college students, and those pursuing specific fields of study. Underlying every Community Foundation scholarship fund is the belief that higher education is a vital investment in our region's future.

The 2020-2021 school year was marked by ongoing challenges, further disruptions to social activities, and months of online and hybrid learning. These challenges and uncertainties took a toll on the mental health and future plans of many local students. We found ourselves more appreciative than ever for everyone who continued to pursue and invest in education and growth this year.

The young people who put in time and effort to apply to our scholarship program in 2021—despite everything going on—impressed us more than we can say! We are grateful for them and for everyone in our community who has continued to uplift and support each other, demonstrating countless creative ways to find and spread hope.

CONGRATULATIONS to this year's scholarship recipients and all of our communities' graduating seniors.

You did it, and we are seriously proud of you!

Andrew William Oakes Scholarship

Tanya Sanchez-Lopez

Cody Brown Memorial Scholarship

Brook Harrison

Coldwell Banker Evergreen Olympic Realty Scholarship

Allison Holder

Bethel  Asomaning    

Whitney Sederberg

Brad Davis "Inspirational  Educator"      

Dan R. Montgomery Scholarship

Andres Escobedo

Arianna Bush

Donald & Patricia Ernst Olympia Kiwanis Endowed Scholarship

Catherine Savel

Daniel Lee

Hugh March

Madeline Waite

Ecosystems Scholarship

Anna Gilmore  

Jessica  Espy      

Keith Johnson

Ellen Anderson deMoise Scholarship

Karen Wu

Sofia  Arceo    

Griffin School Tiernan-Keigher Scholarship

Kennedy Pulley    

Lucy Teuteberg

Matthew Lindblom    

Ryan  Coombes  

Henry J. Melusky Memorial Scholarship

Emerson Moore

John & Opal McGimpsey Scholarship

Haven  Barnes    

Hannah Sasse    

Maya Forrester    

Aryana Merritt    

Rakshith Mullukatte    

Daniel Saelid

L & E Bottling Company Scholarship

Esther Kim    

Madison Vu

Thea  Marie Deanon    

Learning Seed Foundation Scholarship

Marina  Davis    

Allison Diviney    

Kevin Nguyen    

Raechelle Pidone    

Tanya Sanchez-Lopez    

Robert Simon    

Kyungmin Yook    

Kobe Dennis    

Cindy Doan    

Maya Forrester    

Brandon Lee    

Ana Park    

Lina Park    

Luis Rodriguez-Socon    

Angelica Romero-Sanchez    

Elijah Smith    

Madison Vu

Mike and Sharon Welsh Scholarship

Jack Olsen

Next Step Scholarship

McKenzie Bowers

OHS Faculty Memorial Scholarship

Bethel Asomaning

OHS Foundation Alfred Lewis Memorial Scholarship

Aidan McCurley

OHS Foundation Laurie Callaghan Memorial Scholarship

Helen Hauschka

Thurston Climate Action Scholarship

Kaylee Shen

July 1, 2021

< Back to News